Loving Satan

I have to thank Bird for inspiring me to write this post.  Because I LOVE Satan.  I really do.  And I kinda feel sorry for the ‘guy’.

It wasn’t always that way.  I used to hate Satan with a passion; dreamed of fighting him when I became an angel (IF I became an angel).  I hated him so bad . . .

After all, look at all the evil he’s done.  Destroyer of things, harbinger of bad Fate; tempting us on into more temptations; leading us down that path of hatred, vengeance, evil, and Death . . .

But wait – aren’t those HIS words; the words he used against his Father, the Lord?  “Hatred? Vengeance?”  I don’t know: I just have to rely on what the religious books have told me.  In many ways I feel there is no Satan; that he is but one of the many ‘faces’ of God (kinda like the Hindu religion) – but there is a ‘bad guy’ (Satan) and he lurks in the hearts of men and women everywhere – and his greatest trick is convincing us he’s either not there, or not evil, or getting us to do something bad for something that seems good – but is really bad for us anyway.  Adds up to a REALLY bad and clever guy.  (After all, he’s had awhile to develop those skills – and his knowledge of human psychology – outstanding!)

Satan makes us hate ourselves.  Hate is one of HIS weapons; not God’s.  Satan makes us question ‘good’ and ‘evil’ and what we’ve done.  Satan is also quite powerless in many respects: he can’t create a damned thing.  WE’re the ones doing it for him.  And he doesn’t make the choices: you do.

And Satan relies on hatred, anger, and vengeance among mankind – vengeance and hatred for a wrong perceived or one done; making us hate our own kind – killing them, torturing them, kidnapping them, raping, torture . . . the list just goes on and on.

Now you could say it’s “Satan” making us do this, but you’d be wrong.  It’s our own SELVES doing it – WE are the ones making the decisions to ‘hate’ or feel anger, not him – and not God (sometimes).  God gave us “free choice” and the brains to make decisions about things.  Chances are you’ve worked for one of them (if not both) in some kind of way at some time.  You may even be doing it right now – balking at these words.  But that’s good.  I want you to question your mind.  (That’s something I constantly have to do; DID is a bitch as well as a blessing sometimes.)

But the fact is those things: hatred and vengeance – aren’t ours to hold against him (Satan OR God).  We should be holding only onto love for each one and each other all around the world.  A True love, a full love – a well-rounded love! – the kind you give to children: an unconditional love.  One that knows forgiveness, even if there isn’t understanding.  The kind that says “You were forgiven before you were even born” kind of love.

But chances are you aren’t going to be able to do that.  It’s a wonder anybody can.  And I don’t blame you.  Satan (or God – it depends upon your belief system) has done a lot to us.  But most of all he’s given us the freedom to decide (God has; Satan hasn’t – Satan loves setting traps where you make bad choices which then lead to more bad ones trying to get out of the first one you made.)  But it’s almost always a choice at the start.  And therein lies the rub: which way will you choose?  Between good or evil?  The lesser one – or the greater?  Do you even know which one’s which?  Emotions often cloud the mind; animal generated by adrenal screams; or by the desire to survive (in this lifetime anyway; never mind about tomorrow, or that you’ll be leaving THIS lifetime – one in a million – behind).  After all: what’s ten, twenty, or thirty years?  What is a lifetime?  In the face of the vastness of the gulf of eternity?

To me many religions “got it right” – but they also got it wrong in many ways.  You are not supposed to ‘embrace’ the Devil; you are supposed to hate him!  You are supposed to “fight” him at each turn!  You are supposed to go down – fighting and screaming and hating him in your mind.  Right?

Wrong.

Hatred and vengeance?  Those are Satan’s own tools!  He is helpless before your love – trust me! – he really is.  And just because you love him doesn’t mean you condone anything he’s done or says.  Just because you forgive him doesn’t mean you can’t punish him – but without hatred or vengeance in mind.  Not even to ‘teach him a lesson’.  Justice is never done if both parties don’t reach an outcome that is suitable for their crimes.  (Because in my mind it is wrong to persecute – or prosecute – with hatred for the person or demon in your mind – just the action which led them to this fault of yours: letting hatred and anger fill your mind.)

“DEATH!” you hiss with angry vengeance.  “Kill him!” (Meaning Satan.)  Sorry: you can’t.  God’s not going to let you.  Why?  Because like you are the son of man, Satan was one of God’s children.  Do you think God actually HATES something he’s created?  I don’t think so.  He might be troubled by him; hate some of the things he’s doing – but hate the ‘person’ himself?  I think not – not God.  He’s too loving and has a much wiser mind than US.

“Hate the sin but not the sinner.”  Isn’t that what we’ve done? By embracing ‘Satan’ as our insane brother – one who belongs in an insane asylum for the violently hostile insane – we’ve come to know him, love him – feel SORRY for the poor bastard.  I don’t ‘sympathize’ with him, and you’ll never find me condoning his notions – but I don’t fight with him in my mind.  Don’t need to.  I don’t think he even really bothers tempting me anymore, though sometimes one of the psychopathic ‘parts’ of myself will tell me to do something stupid.  (I don’t blame that on Satan anymore, either).  I just ignore them: after all – they’re ‘mine’, but they are insane.  Their whispers to me mean no more than a butterflies wings in the darkness.  Absolute silence if I have the means to control it.

God’s love is all about love and learning to love ‘someone’ better.  (Actually, it’s “everything”, but so what.)  God is about forgiving and knowing better (that’s why he put those little nuances in our heart that help tell us what to do).  God isn’t about “hating” someone – including Satan, one of God’s own sons.  God is about learning to accept them for ‘who’ or ‘what’ they are and dealing with the accordingly – not with laughter and shame, but with compassion and love and forgiveness.  No matter how bad they are.  Anger at the sin; compassion towards the sinner: it’s ‘our’ job to get them to make the realizations which will bring them ‘in line’ with the powers of good, and not evil and harm.

Including Satan.  Which is why I can claim him as my own ‘brother’ in some ways (after all, who doesn’t have a little Devil inside?) – and take care of him (in my mind) and love him – without doing anything he says.

And I think I’ve made the right choice in this when I decided to ‘accept’ and love Satan last year during my stint over in Puerto Rico – for by loving him I have ended most of my battles inside; “he” no longer tempts me – I like what I am doing; I am much happier for it – I feel that THIS is what God told me to do (loving Satan and all that) – and while I realize it is probably hard, if not impossible for most people to do – I can do it.  I still get angry at him – VERY angry for what he’s done.  But that doesn’t mean I’m going to hate him.  I’m done with ‘hating’ parts of my own self.  Including Satan – and including God sometimes.

Jeff & Crew, ‘et all’

About jeffssong

JW is an adult childhood abuse survivor with DID*. He grew up in a violent family devoid of love and affection. He is a military brat and veteran. He still struggles with that past, things he's done, done to him. In 1976 JW began writing "The Boy". It took 34 years to complete. It is currently on Kindle (http://www.amazon.com/dp/B004T3IVKK ), or if you prefer hard copy, on Amazon ( http://www.amazon.com/Boy-J-W/dp/1461022681). JW resides somewhere in the deep South. He is disabled and living with family. Note: Please feel free to take what you need; all is free to all. With that in mind, keep it that way to others. Thank you. We have 3 Blogs - One for our younger days, 0-10 (The Little Shop of Horrors); one for our Teen Alter and his 'friends' (also alters) with a lot of poetry; and finally "my" own, the Song of Life (current events and things)
This entry was posted in religion and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Loving Satan

  1. Ever read the Screwtape Letters by CS Lewis?

  2. jeffssong says:

    :) Yes. Ever read Doctor Rat? (http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/225699.Doctor_Rat) LOL. I used to work in the Army animal labs as a teen.
    Fav book of all when I was a kid? “The Lord of the Flies”. I wanted to go ‘there’ (to a deserted island somewhere – preferably with a friend) SO bad I even wrote a novel about it. I think I was about 13. LOL.

    Love reading, BTW: a consumer of knowledge. Just love it.

  3. Never heard of Doctor Rat, but definitely read and loved Lord of the Flies. I used to read like crazy, but now nearly everything I read and do is on the internet.

Go Ahead. You were thinking . . . ?

