The New Music

When I was a kid, we didn’t have any music.  No – really, none at all.

My parents forbade anything that sounded like music: from banging on pots and pans as a toddler, to anything “radio”, “tape”, or MTV.  They watched the news.  The most radical thing they ever bought was JC Superstar (and he is, but so are all the other Gods, IMO.)  That, I think, was Father’s error – he’s a highly religious man, steeped in the good book learning. (Which in my opinion is the right idea, but wrong book to read. He needs to read the book in his heart – something I’m thinking a whole lot of others of us should be doing, BTW.)

But as a result of a ‘music-less’ childhood (which in my special case, seems so apt) – I’ve gone through my life NOT listening to music.  Oh sure, I’ve come to learn some: I’ve got my beats I enjoy; songs I like hearing; some even ‘talk’ to me.  But … for the most part, I can drive all day long with nothing but the window open, or, as now, sit here typing on my computer for hours on end in total (and I mean total!) silence.

BUT, here lately –

There’s been a song in my heart.  It is a song of love and . . . well, amazing things to all of us (I’m DID).  What this means is I am healing.  And for a person like us, with our spotty past – that mean more than a miracle.  For a person like me, well: its the hand of god*.

Sincerely,
JW and friends.

(*your god, my god, anyone’s god.  THEY  are ONE to us.  LOL, we see a subtle symbolism and irony in that bitter yet sweet symbolism!  See ya! Later! the editor, your man Elvis)

About jeffssong

JW is an adult childhood abuse survivor with DID*. He grew up in a violent family devoid of love and affection. He is a military brat and veteran. He no longer struggles with that past. In 1976 JW began writing "The Boy". It took 34 years to complete. It is currently on Kindle (http://www.amazon.com/dp/B004T3IVKK ), or if you prefer hard copy, on Amazon ( http://www.amazon.com/Boy-J-W/dp/1461022681). JW resides somewhere in the deep South. He is disabled and living with family. Note: Please feel free to take what you need; all is free to all. With that in mind, keep it that way to others. Thank you. We have 3 Blogs - One for our younger days, 0-10 (The Little Shop of Horrors); one for our Teen Alter and his 'friends' (also alters) with a lot of poetry; and finally "my" own, the Song of Life (current events and things)
This entry was posted in child abuse survivor, DID, dissociative identity disorder, mental health, MPD, music, religion, Schizophrenia, therapy and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Go Ahead. You were thinking . . . ?

