Joy vs. Happiness

Joy versus Happiness.  Happiness versus Contentment.  Contentment from Apathy.  Such is the trek I’ve taken, going over one to the other –  in spurts and bits – falling back sometimes (sometimes into the doom and/or rage; sometimes into dark depression . . . thinking: is this ‘job’ ever quite done?)  I don’t know, but I’m working on it.  WE’RE working on it …. one and all; gently toiling away …. and not so gently sometimes.  (“Duck, boys!  Here comes another wave!” (salt splash (bitterness) and all).

But Joy.  What is it?  We’ve jumped through one ‘golden hoop’ after another . . . just to find another one lays beyond?  What IS this thing?

Joy.  I hadn’t known until I found it; and having ‘found it’ I didn’t know – it sort of felt like an anxiety attack – only different!

We found it while listening to Judy Garland sing “Over the Rainbow” on the Wizard of Oz movie.

But it was that ‘feels like an anxiety attack’ that clued me in.

Just like “anxiety” is a mixture of ‘negative’ emotions, JOY is the mix of POSITIVE emotions: laughter, happiness, contentment, acceptance, love . . . and perhaps even the appreciation for the beauty of … everything.

I would say “there’s nothing quite like it” – but I’d be wrong.  REAL wrong.

For I’ve seen Joy in the delight of every child – the face I’ve seen when beholding a rainbow, or a spectacular thing . . . the ‘joy’ of the child when she’s running up to me, five or six or eight years old – and ribbons in her hair, greeting me: “Hey daddy!”

I’ve seen joy in just about everything . . . and I think you have, too.  It might have just been when you were a small child beholding ‘that butterfly’ for the very first time; it may have been your first ‘communion kiss’ – who knows?  Only you do; for only you hold the star to that thing and the keys to that secret within.

Joy.  No wonder it felt like a damned anxiety attack…

it was just ‘too many’ of the right damn things!!

(laughing my head off like a lunatic – saying ‘watch your children and feel joy’ – for there it lurks somewhere inside of you . . . just waiting its own chance to spring out!)

Happy hunting, my friends.

And Joy to Us All.
Jeffery And Friends

 

(PS: we picked some odd ‘categories’ again: “Music” because joy brings music to our ears (meaning souls within), “Children” because I’m and all are remembering when we felt ‘joy’ now and again; plus we are right now)
About jeffssong

JW is an adult childhood abuse survivor with DID*. He grew up in a violent family devoid of love and affection. He is a military brat and veteran. He no longer struggles with that past. In 1976 JW began writing "The Boy". It took 34 years to complete. It is currently on Kindle (http://www.amazon.com/dp/B004T3IVKK ), or if you prefer hard copy, on Amazon ( http://www.amazon.com/Boy-J-W/dp/1461022681). JW resides somewhere in the deep South. He is disabled and living with family. Note: Please feel free to take what you need; all is free to all. With that in mind, keep it that way to others. Thank you. We have 3 Blogs - One for our younger days, 0-10 (The Little Shop of Horrors); one for our Teen Alter and his 'friends' (also alters) with a lot of poetry; and finally "my" own, the Song of Life (current events and things)
This entry was posted in children, Counselors, Happiness, JefferyW, Life, MPD, music, Psychology, Schizophrenia, therapy and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Joy vs. Happiness

  1. Michael says:

    Hey Guy,
    It is Michael from selfish-too. I gave you some bad info on the kayak thing. A rudder is not easy to make. To retract it you really need a wheel centered over the rudder and the rudder needs to be shaped. You may have known this I did not.

    I am having to much fun in my wetsuit to kayak right now. A wetsuit makes you very buoyant. Kinda a human kayak. Will be to hot pretty soon.

    I mixed up joy with excitement. Happiness with getting a lot done.

    Like

  2. Kat & Co says:

    hang onto that joy for us and mail us some couldya?

    Like

Go Ahead. You were thinking . . . ?

