Medical Mistakes

Here’s the list of diagnoses I was given in a period of about three days (taken from my medical records):
Original diagnosis (by doctor’s secretary or police, depending upon who you wish to believe): “Psychotic Break” and “Delusional paranoid idealization”.

Here’s what the ‘pros’ at the first hospital I was interred at had to say:

“History of PTSD, depression, bipolar disorder, multiple personalities”

As I wrote yesterday, you usually aren’t both “bipolar’ and ‘multiple personalities’.  And what ever happened to “MPD” being phased out in favor of “DID”?  Did these guys just get out of school . . . thirty years ago???  We will blog on this MPD vs BPD (which is what they used later for Bipolar Disorder – though by ‘old terms’ “BPD” actually refers to “Borderline Personality Disorder” . . . so it’s no wonder the docs are confused ….)

Get this:

“Due to refusal of treatment and desire to go home, he has been 1013’ed . . .”

I never refused to do anything they asked . . . and basically they are saying because I wanted to go home, I was going to be committed.  For wanting to go home.  Get that?

My wife was amused by this statement: “He has one past marriage.”  This is also news to me.  We were both surprised to find I had been married before.  Perhaps I married myself?  You’d think I would remember something like that . . . perhaps another ‘part’ of me got secretly married and never told the rest of ‘us’?  You’d think we’d notice another woman hanging around . . . calling us ‘honey’ . . .

“Admission Mental Status Exam”
Appearance: Clean
Demeanor: Hostile (meaning I was saying “Hey! Let me go! I didn’t DO anything to merit being involuntarily confined!”) . . .
Mood: Upset

Well, duh!  Wouldn’t YOU be a little ‘upset’ and ‘hostile’ if a couple of cops came to your door – nearly knocked it down – and then lying to you (saying they were going to take your statement) – hauled you off to a mental institution for ‘evaluation’ – without your permission, foreknowledge, or desire to ‘be there’?

And they repeatedly focus on the fact that I bought ‘multiple firearms’.  So what?  I had a man who’d threatened to kill my family!  And guess what: I had ‘multiple firearms’ before I bought those handguns.  Being a former Marine I’m somewhat of an arms collector – I have everything from swords to blackpowder handguns; an old Japanese style sniper rifle and a Chinese assault weapon – two crossbows and a couple dozen knives . . . yeah, I like weapons.  And I’m a collector of them.

I just decided that now was the time – the right time and a good time – to upgrade my handgun collection.  I’ve owned a .357 Smith & Wesson handgun for quite a while – a huge hog’s leg of a weapon – and not quite the thing you wanna go carrying around – plus my wife works with finance and handles a lot of money – she’s needed a gun for a good while (working on the ‘poor’ part of town doesn’t help) – plus my daughter is an expert with a gun (she’s been trained by both a former Marine and commando, plus an old firearms expert who worked for the DNR both as a cop and an enforcement officer) . . . these people needed some guns, just in case I couldn’t be around – just in case this guy came around and theatened to harm them – and I wasn’t there . . .

Which, in this case, I wasn’t – since I was somewhere else – namely, locked up in the insane museum – that is, a museum of joksters pretending to be doctors while the real patients looked on . . . so many of the people didn’t need to be there, by the way – it was really pathetic, and the staff in some of the places (especially some of the younger staff) were rude, obnoxious, impatient, and needed some training by me . . . while the ancient staff nodded and laughed and looked on, knowing I was doing some training that was needed – like “You gotta have patience with us patients!  That’s what YOU are being PAID for!  And if you DON’T want me looking at those records – put them UP and don’t leave them laying around for everyone to look at!”  (To which the older and more experienced residents and staff agreed, backing me up on it – and shutting up some of the younger and more inexperienced ‘students’ and staff.)

Yeah, I can be obnoxious in a way in my behalf as well, such as telling the doctor who first “observed” me that he might as well be F’ing me in the A as keeping me there – because he was just abusing me for being there – and abusing me for being abused – and that keeping me there was a wrong doing . . . but he refused to agree.  Butthead.

Well, there you go . . . we’re a little pissed off at the medical profession – people we were supposed to trust betrayed us; damaged our lives and our relationships . . . saw an old friend yesterday . . . he was cool and distant, unwilling to go past general banalities – the old ‘hello, how are you’, ‘fine’, ‘that’s good’, ‘good-bye’ routine . . . despite my efforts to engage him into talking about his job (he works for Walmart, and therefore usually has a lot to say) . . . but nothing . . .

Gee, this sucks . . . which makes me mad, but not too angry… just a bit on the part of a few pieces inside . . . but enough to keep me going . . .

Stupid docs.  Whutta way to get paid: for making up a bunch of bullshit . . .

Sticks outta twigs,
mud huts outta worms,
lies from honesty . . .
see the doctors squirm …

About jeffssong

JW is an adult childhood abuse survivor with DID*. He grew up in a violent family devoid of love and affection. He is a military brat and veteran. He no longer struggles with that past. In 1976 JW began writing "The Boy". It took 34 years to complete. It is currently on Kindle (http://www.amazon.com/dp/B004T3IVKK ), or if you prefer hard copy, on Amazon ( http://www.amazon.com/Boy-J-W/dp/1461022681). JW resides somewhere in the deep South. He is disabled and living with family. Note: Please feel free to take what you need; all is free to all. With that in mind, keep it that way to others. Thank you. We have 3 Blogs - One for our younger days, 0-10 (The Little Shop of Horrors); one for our Teen Alter and his 'friends' (also alters) with a lot of poetry; and finally "my" own, the Song of Life (current events and things)
This entry was posted in Alters, Counselors, DID, Education, mental health, Mental Health Professionals, MPD, Psychiatry, Psychology, PTSD, therapist, therapy and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Go Ahead. You were thinking . . . ?

