Don’t Make Me Mad: A Pedestrian View

Okay, that’s it.  I called the cops; the wife has called the cops – and yet the situation persists.

Our road dumps out onto another road – a major “highway” by country standards – and the area we’re in has been built up majorly through the years – which is alright by me, since we’ve seen this (the development) coming for the past twenty-some odd years – which is exactly why we bought this place (or one of the reasons – it has many excellent points, such as fire, EMT, police and city hall less than a mile away – many schools – and is in close proximity to Augusta Georgia, where we used to live.)  Investment property – a “step-up” home we never stepped out of, it’s worth more money than what we paid for it – which is saying something in this day and age of Recession and declining property values.  “We did good!” as I like to say, congratulation my ‘others’ on their choice and decision.  (I was just along for the ride – Matthew here, mad as hell – as is M3.)

However, now that the traffic has increased and the drivers are using ‘our’ road (meaning the road in front of our house, not “our” road, as in actual ownership or possession) to bypass another ‘major’ intersection (read ‘bottleneck’) – the drivers are coming down our road and creating another bottleneck at the other end.

Well, that’s all fine and okay with me until I get to walking.  And get this: High school students have to walk this path, too, if they’re gonna get to school.

At this particular intersection is a bit of sidewalk leading up to the intersection.  That’s all right by me as well – I think sidewalks are kewl.  They keep me from having to walk in the road.

However . . .

SOME people are too impatient (or too late) to wait for the Stop sign . . . (their own fault: if they’d gotten up and left earlier, they wouldn’t be so ‘late’ for work) . . .

and now what we’ve got some of them doing is going off the road and driving up the sidewalk to make their right turn.

NOT fine with me – especially with all these high school kids coming – and ESPECIALLY WHEN IT IS MY OWN ASS on the sidewalk with them.

Lately these “drivers” (and I use the term loosely – any driver knows – or had better know! –  pedestrians have the right of way – ALWAYS.  Especially when they are on the sidewalk and not on the road.  Don’t you agree???  Shouldn’t sidewalks be reserved for PEOPLE and not machines??

Well, today this guy comes up behind me – ON THE SIDEWALK, MIND YOU! – in his SUV – and honks his horn – AND MOTIONS ANGRILY AT ME TO GET OUT OF THE WAY!!!!!  (Or at least that’s what he seemed to be shouting through the closed windows of his car.)  Me on the sidewalk?  Get out of the way of his SUV??  I don’t give a shit if you are hauling two tons of metal – I’m a Marine – and I will defend my right to be there – especially if you are wrong!

Next time I’m gonna be hauling my gun.  A nine millimeter Glock; ten rounds, plus one in the chamber . . . .

And the next time some guy (or gal) comes up DRIVING up behind me ON THE SIDEWALK –

I’m gonna blow him away.  Or actually, not “him” (or her) – but their vehicle.  I’m gonna be aiming for the engine block – but you can be sure of one thing.  I’m gonna stop him (or her) since the cops don’t seem to give a damn – and if they do.  And I’m sick of the cops.  They’ve never done me any good – never!   Always a dollar short and a day late – never there when you need them, and all over your ass when you don’t.

After all, like I told the cops:  I’m gonna be fearin’ for my life, and that vehicle is a dangerous weapon.

Either that – or I’m gonna smash his grille – jump on his hood – throw myself against the windshield – roll off on the ground – and claim he ‘struck me’.  Seeing as it will all have happened on the sidewalk . . . someone’s gonna pay.

And I damn sure know:
It ain’t gonna be me.

Stupid bastards.  Either learn how to drive . . . or get off the road.
and not in your car, either!

And . . . if YOU are one of these bastards – if YOU are one of “those” folks who insist on driving on sidewalks just to “save some time” because YOU are running late because YOU are too lazy to get up and out on time . . . just remember:

I’m gonna be waiting for you.  So you’d just better watch it.  And stay the hell off the sidewalk.
Because the next thing you know: you might be running into me.
and you certainly don’t want to do that.  You might just make me mad.  And you wouldn’t like me very much when I get mad.  Not at all.

So be careful out there.  Watch out for our pedestrians.  Keep an eye peeled for children on the road.  And whatever you do – keep your damn bloody car off my sidewalk . . .

or you might just find yourself staring down the eye of my gun.

Sincerely,
Matthew, Jeff, and et all (somewhat.)

About jeffssong

JW is an adult childhood abuse survivor with DID*. He grew up in a violent family devoid of love and affection. He is a military brat and veteran. He no longer struggles with that past. In 1976 JW began writing "The Boy". It took 34 years to complete. It is currently on Kindle (http://www.amazon.com/dp/B004T3IVKK ), or if you prefer hard copy, on Amazon ( http://www.amazon.com/Boy-J-W/dp/1461022681). JW resides somewhere in the deep South. He is disabled and living with family. Note: Please feel free to take what you need; all is free to all. With that in mind, keep it that way to others. Thank you. We have 3 Blogs - One for our younger days, 0-10 (The Little Shop of Horrors); one for our Teen Alter and his 'friends' (also alters) with a lot of poetry; and finally "my" own, the Song of Life (current events and things)
This entry was posted in Anger and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Don’t Make Me Mad: A Pedestrian View

  1. Michael says:

    Hello,

    I read the title of the post and pretty much thought I knew what was coming and I was right. Here is the thing. First it has been my experience marines tend not to shoot someone for no good reason.

    My last assault charge was about such a thing. Dragged the guy out of the window threw him across the hood and we had a chat. Nice fellow after that. That was long ago and I would go to jail now. So will you.

    I have some other ideas and not being angry is not one of them., Assume that you are incorrect and he does not want you to move rather just get you attention as there must be some emergency and go and help him out. Take a photo of his licence plate and file a complaint.

    You and I both know what happened. You were relaxed and he got the best of you and that is what you are really pissed at. That happens to all of us. Just some of us never admit it., Perhaps just go with you are angry that you were not prepared for that happening and know something like that is going to happen again.

    It is a burden to know what can be done., i wish I was one of those people that had no idea what could be done.

    Like

  2. jeffssong says:

    Yeah – I agree. A bit of overreaction. On the other hand: not. I’m really big into defending folks’ rights – even while risking or not defending mine. Have gotten tired of the latter.

    However, the fact remains: this is a sidewalk used by kids. Pedestrians have the right of way – at ALL times. The police have remained complacent because so far they’ve been lucky. Sooner or later the inevitable will happen.

    However, a more rational move would be to just sit there some morning with my video camera, capture the offenders (and their license plates) – go to city hall and complain. Nothing will happen of course. And yes: I will take my gun. I personally know some of these rednecks – if they think you are “filming” them “breaking the law” (eg. riding up on the sidewalk to avoid a stop sign) they will stop, get out, and try to take your camera – and will use force if necessary. Not a problem; we’d kill them with our bare hands – too old to ‘fight’ anymore – but they are also just as apt to resort to a gun or other deadly weapon. Call it a “Southern” thing – a lot of folks carry guns – and we’ve been surprised when some old grandma hauls out her long gun from her purse for use to peruse. So we are taking the Southern philosophy: go in gentlemanly, but be prepared for violence – just in case. And sometimes extreme violence can be their style. (You never know with some of these country folks.)

    Risks? Indeed. But we don’t care. We are going there to defend our rights – and quite literally make the streets safer for our kids. A simple fence would do – keeping the drivers on the road – no more than twenty-five, fifty feet long. It’s a “growing problem” in every sense of the word: a problem which comes from a growing community (this area is now turning into a bedroom community, which is fine by me) – and poor planning on the part of our city administrators (especially the “planning” committee – a committee of one – a “big” girl who comes from the Secretarial pool, and not an engineering one). And more people mean more kids walking along to school – more cars driving – and the infrastructure has not been planned, resulting in these problems. City hall won’t listen to me – they listen to their administrators – and I’m tired of them ignoring the problem. Sooner or later someone’s gonna get hurt – and I’d rather it be me than some kid. Plus: what’s the worse that’ll happen? End up dead. No big deal there, either.

    We’ll do what we can – we always do – to correct some local wrong when it is endangering somebody – as well as getting mad at those who do the wrong kind of thing – especially when it comes to breaking the law and being impatient to do it. Some laws (shrug) – we don’t care. But when it comes to one like that: a pedestrian’s rights on the sidewalk vs. some mad guy in a car – well, we’re gonna step up. Kinda tired, yeah – but just like we’ve always done.

    Like

  3. Michael says:

    I had this thought. “Do what you got to do just do not expect it to be appreciated, that would be foolish.”

    Then I had the thought better to do something for someone that would appreciate it.

    Then I had the thought why don’t you do something that you would appreciated and take care of others later. Perhaps much much later.

    Like

  4. jeffssong says:

    Great logic sequence and probably the best road to follow; though the latter goes against my training (eg. “treating myself” or putting myself or my welfare over that of someone else’s – to a degree). Actually: I need to work on ‘my’ stuff more: push forward on some of ‘my’ things (our things …. sighing … trying the “monobyte monolog” thing is hard, LO tired wry L’s.) Been busy! – life demands – but I think you would use the word “fugue” or (as we like to put it) “daze” (flat, unattached, hard to “connect”, push or do). Had a weekend social event; still got ‘folks’ in my head doing some planning (novel connected); plus other things – busy.
    Take care. We must fly! LOL.

    Like

Go Ahead. You were thinking . . . ?

