Tagged

Blog games (wry smile) – for bloggers with too much time on their hands and too little to do? (I say this as I brush grass clippings from my hair; I just got done mowing the shaggy lawn.)

Anyway, I’ll play the game.  (And look up and read about “gamification” -it’s a growing fad which, unfortunately, is probably gonna last – and already affects everything you do (think ‘reward points’ and ‘high score awards’ for doing what you do in life – and are supposed to do – like give a gift to your wife – or mowing grass, LOL!).  Seriously – it’s a serious thing.  And the fact that I know about it should tell you a thing or two: I am keeping up on my studies, tutors.  (I’m thinking of my ‘handlers’ in some ways; people who taught me ‘things’ – most of all: keep on learning about sociology, new technology, science and human beings.  Yeah – I come from a strange kind of background, and I’m a “Learner: OCD”.)

However, I would like to thank Hobbler for introducing me to the game.  Sorry Hobbler: I don’t have eleven friends.  And I’ve got this thing about this kind of “stuff”: people can feel emotionally bound to attempt to fulfill requests.  But that’s okay, too.  It’s good to step ‘out of the box’ or bounds sometimes – or to draw them (boundaries, that is – a thing I’m not very good at.)

So here’s the rules:

  1. You must post these rules.
  2. Answer the question the “tagger” listed for you in their post,
  3. And create 11 new questions for the people you tag to answer.
  4. Choose 11 people to tag and link to them in the post. (herein lays a problem)
  5. Let each blogger know that you have tagged them.

The question Hobbler asked me . . . gee, damn, Hobbler.  You can certainly ask some hard ones!!!!

“What is the happiest memory from your childhood?”

Now this should be easy, but . . . gee.

First: What -or when – was my childhood?  Childhood is a matter of perception, I reckon, like so many other things.  So when you say “Childhood” and I envision that period between 5 and 11 – the period of time I spent in “The Hood“.  So I can to narrow it down to then.  Which throws out when I got my first sword (“a real one!”, my excited childhood self exclaims in excitement and pride.)  ‘We’ were 12 years old – and it was a real Toledo (Spain) broadsword, almost as long as me – and quite heavy!  My brother got the French fencing foil, an “epee” – which is where I learned: broadswords vs. fencing foils?  Not very effective.  Foils have finesse.  Broadswords are just cut and hack.   So we can throw out that hour or two of pleasure and joy. (And yes, we still have those swords.  The guards on mine are broken off; the guard on the foil? Dented and whacked.)

LOL, Hobbler is good.  Befuddling me like that.  Making me think REAL hard.  Not just “a happy time” – but the happiest time of all.

I can’t even make my mind up about a pizza – for me they are just ‘different’.  Ditto . . . everything.  Just ‘different’ with either a ‘like’ or a ‘dislike’.  But here I have an honest question that deserves (and demands) a singular answer.  (Trust me to make something complicated, eh, Hobbler?  I’m pretty good at that.  Or finding a single ‘root cause’.)  We’ll see.

Okay: so we got childhood narrowed down (or at least mine): ages 5-11 years old. (short childhood, eh? Or maybe not. I have no other to compare with. How long was YOURS, anybody?)

Next we must define “HAPPINESS”.  What is that?

Michael (a guy on another blog) taught me that ‘happiness’ is NOT “excitement”.  So I can’t go with the times I was “happily excited” I guess – like the time right before the guy who molested me had me do it with a dog.  I was overjoyed that he had come over – really happy!  But I hadn’t a clue as to what was to come, so . . . does that count?  Those few hours before he molested me?  Dunno.  However, if that ‘feeling’ of happiness, excitement, and joy counts as “happiness” – there are several times.  Many did not end up ‘good’.  (going to grandma’s – a rare event, only happened once every few years – made me ‘happy’ – but they usually sent me to the basement, or to go outside while my brother and mother visited with them.  Yes: I was not a perennial favorite.)

And yes, Hobbler, I actually had to visit a site (Wikipedia) to try to figure out what “happiness” means.  Here’s what they said:

Happiness is a mental or emotional state of well-being characterized by positive or pleasant emotions ranging from contentment to intense joy. . Philosophers and religious thinkers often define happiness in terms of living a good life, or flourishing, rather than simply as an emotion. . . . Happiness is a fuzzy concept and can mean many things to many people.”

So I had to ask myself: what did “happiness” mean to me as a little child.

And it meant one thing.

Peace within.

With that in mind, I offer up this story – because ‘this place’ was the place where sometimes I could find that: a centered peace, a contentment, away from everything.

“The Hall Tree”.

And as for tagging others – Hobbler? Here I must decline – because I’m serious. I don’t have 11 friends whom I’d feel comfortable ‘tagging’ online.  :/  Sorry about that.  But it’s just a game . . . yet (wry smile again) – somehow I suspect you got a bit more than you wanted here anyway, LOL!  But thanks again for asking: it reminded me of some things, forced me to look at the definition of ‘happiness’ again (and surprise! I found that it is ill-defined, which may be part of the reason so many people have trouble finding it.  Hard enough as it is.)

But here’s the other thing:  I’ve always sworn: “I would like some happiness – but I’ll settle on contentment instead.”

And that’s where I think a lot of people make a mistake in their pursuit: confusing happiness with ‘joy and excitement’ – which are apparently different things – but part of ‘it’ (happiness) . . .

Hard question, Hobbler.  LOL.  And here you and I thought it would be easy – but easier said than done – again!

About jeffssong

JW is an adult childhood abuse survivor with DID*. He grew up in a violent family devoid of love and affection. He is a military brat and veteran. He no longer struggles with that past. In 1976 JW began writing "The Boy". It took 34 years to complete. It is currently on Kindle (http://www.amazon.com/dp/B004T3IVKK ), or if you prefer hard copy, on Amazon ( http://www.amazon.com/Boy-J-W/dp/1461022681). JW resides somewhere in the deep South. He is disabled and living with family. Note: Please feel free to take what you need; all is free to all. With that in mind, keep it that way to others. Thank you. We have 3 Blogs - One for our younger days, 0-10 (The Little Shop of Horrors); one for our Teen Alter and his 'friends' (also alters) with a lot of poetry; and finally "my" own, the Song of Life (current events and things)
This entry was posted in child abuse survivor, Happiness and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Tagged

  1. The Hobbler says:

    Sorry it took me so long to get over here. Crazy busy day…anyway, I like you giving it a thoughtful response. That is why I asked you that question. As you have probably figured out, I like to talk a lot too.

    Anyway, I think my childhood would be considered about the same age that you chose. I was always a pretty serious kid, and I don’t remember when I figured out that I wasn’t a “kid” anymore, but it was definitely before I was a teenager. If that makes sense.

    Anyway, I think that happy memory is wonderful. Some might say it’s a little dangerous for a kid to have a sword, but the idea of danger, kind of like happiness, changes with time… like the clouds. Shaping and reshaping itself.

    Anyway, am so glad I chose you for one of those who I tagged. I might say more tomorrow, but I am blogging on my phone now, and can’t even see the top half of this. 😉

    Like

Go Ahead. You were thinking . . . ?

