Military Culture, Military Cult

1.  a particular system of religious worship, especially with reference to its rites and ceremonies.
2.  an instance of great veneration of a person, ideal, or thing, especially as manifested by a body of admirers: the physical fitness cult.
3.  the object of such devotion.
4.  a group or sect bound together by veneration of the same thing, person, ideal, etc.
5.  Sociology: a group having a sacred ideology and a set of rites centering around their sacred symbols.

culture

[kuhl-cher]
1.  the quality in a person or society that arises from a concern for what is regarded as excellent in arts, letters, manners, scholarly pursuits, etc.
2.  that which is excellent in the arts, manners, etc.
3.  a particular form or stage of civilization, as that of a certain nation or period: Greek culture.
4.  development or improvement of the mind by education or training.
5.  the behaviors and beliefs characteristic of a particular social, ethnic, or age group: the youth culture; the drug culture.


More and more I’ve begun to realize that not only was I raised in and exposed to a series of cultures during my lifetime (meaning my young childhood) – but I was raised by a cult of sorts.  And that’s cult’s name was the United States Military.
I was raised by midwestern parents in a deep Southern neighborhood next to a military base; I was born overseas in a hospital while my family was on a military tour.  I’ve been conditioned to stand up when the flags being raised, and I still expect the National Athem to play when a movie opens up . . . I get mad when I see people disrespecting the flag and the country my “cult” trained and ‘cultivated’ me to defend . . . and then there’s the conflicting of some rights . . .
I never quite realized it until I got to the ‘end’ of the tales of the ‘hood and started moving on to my ‘military career’ beginning as a young child ‘over there’ in Germany towards the latter ends of the big Americo-Russian Cold War – and it was a cold one, that’s a matter of fact!  Even as a child I can recall seeing nuclear bombs (or some kind of missiles) going through our ‘neighborhood’ . . . only the rumor was going around that they were Pershing missiles (the nuclear ones) . . . and I’ve recently found where a G.I. mentioned that there were nuclear warheads at the base we were on (a ‘secret’ spy base; one that used to send planes over Eastern Europe to do a little eavesdropping . . .).
But the “religion” of the military cult was an orderly one – and a strict one as well!  Support your flag and country; commit no unpatriotic acts at all: remember, you are US emissaries in a foreign country – misbehave and we’re gonna boot you and your parents from this land!  You wanna talk “rites”?  The military is full of them: which each command and order there is a ‘rite’.  For every request and thing: a rite – a form to fill out, a thing to turn in.  Everything is documented, everything is detailed . . . the military makes a “standard operating protocol” for everything they encounter.  Their Bible and their Book is this thing: the rules and regulations which govern the United States military, and those civilian rules . . . and your own ‘family’s rules’ . . . and “AMERICA” is the God; the General is the voice of Him, and you’d better do as the ‘religion’ has told you to do . . .
When God speaks you don’t answer, nor do you ask why . . . you just hustle your ass in there and get the job done . . . looking fearfully over your shoulder, waiting for something else to happen . . .
The constant eye was upon you . . . everywhere you looked there were reminders: you are a military child connected to the US military and you’d better watch your step, stand your ground, give in when necessary to avoid a confrontation; fight when necessary – and defend to the death the US flag and all it stands for – giving it your all and giving up your freedom, if that’s what it took, to protect someone else – and yourself.
We were steeped and breeded so much into the military culture . . .
And I spent the first 28 years of my life either in it, around it, or working for it in some ways.  For the first eighteen years of my life: army dependent; the next 6: US Marines, followed by 8 more doing ‘contract work’ for the US Army on a nearby base . . . (yeah, I know that adds up to more than 28 – it comes to 32 years – but the US Military found me kinda . . . flexible . . . and there’s times the Army can use a Marine, LOL.  We are useful in some kinds of nasty ways . . . I even had an “unlimited” budget at one of the sites . . . that went on for six years . . . soft smile; painful memories and good ones as well) . . .
But I cut my association with the US Military short when I was 28 years old.  However – that’s still more than half my life (I’m not even fifty-five!) . . . born into it.  Raised as a child into it.  The familial culture was steeped in it.  Some of the neighborhoods I grew up in – hell, I can remember all us children playing with a parachute when I was small!  and getting cussed out by an ‘officer’ as well . . . polishing boots (but unable to spit shine them well enough for my dad) . . . the ‘white glove’ inspections that were carried on at home; the guns, the knives; the weapons laying around . . .
I was raised a military child; trained to become a warrior for a war that never came . . . lol!  Now I’m too old for that kinda stuff; at best I’m an anachronistic old dinosaur who’s no good except in the event of a nuclear war, LOL . . .
Kind of a waste of a child, and waste of a mind, if you ask me . . .
(this is just the tip of an iceberg.  Ponder this one: What’s the Army going to TEACH a child . . . and what are some parents – and perhaps some of their friends – going to teach some kids, knowing the base they are on may be over-run by the Soviets and the Russians during a nuclear war? . . . what if it was about when a “cult” within a “culture” forms?  In a way MK was like that; a cult in a culture in a cult government run government sponsored . . . the “military ‘one” . . . what if some of the parents and CO got together . . . loosely talking at the Officer’s Club?  Coming up with a ‘plan’ to teach their children in case of war . . . it could have been.   I know the CIA was on that base; I found that as well . . . not that I think they were involved . . . just looking over photographs.  But us kids . . . hmm, wondering . . .
About jeffssong

JW is an adult childhood abuse survivor with DID*. He grew up in a violent family devoid of love and affection. He is a military brat and veteran. He no longer struggles with that past. In 1976 JW began writing "The Boy". It took 34 years to complete. It is currently on Kindle (http://www.amazon.com/dp/B004T3IVKK ), or if you prefer hard copy, on Amazon ( http://www.amazon.com/Boy-J-W/dp/1461022681). JW resides somewhere in the deep South. He is disabled and living with family. Note: Please feel free to take what you need; all is free to all. With that in mind, keep it that way to others. Thank you. We have 3 Blogs - One for our younger days, 0-10 (The Little Shop of Horrors); one for our Teen Alter and his 'friends' (also alters) with a lot of poetry; and finally "my" own, the Song of Life (current events and things)
This entry was posted in child abuse survivor and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Go Ahead. You were thinking . . . ?

