Robama or Obomney?

I really wish there was another choice.  Here we are two days from the election and I still haven’t made up my mind yet.  What is best for ME may not be best for my country and vis versa.  On the other hand, if I don’t vote, I can’t complain – or so they say.  (I haven’t seen where that’s ever stopped anyone.)

What we need is a blend of the two – a kind of “Obomney” or “Robama” – a candidate who is middle ground enough to suit my tastes, values, and moral structures – or at least one who is willing to given in a bit to build one.

What I haven’t seen from the Obama campaign (nor presidency) is a willingness, or even desire to compromise, while on the other hand the right wing Republicans are a bit too strict for me.  I believe in a woman’s right to abortion (up to a certain stage) and the right to grow your own marijuana (if it was allowed by law).  I don’t think politicians (or their cronies or hands) should have their hand in literally everything . . .

The Democrats have a lot going for them – a strong social system, a desire to help those who can’t or won’t help themselves – but I’ve got a problem with that one, too – that latter phrase “won’t help themselves”.  I’ve seen far too many of the latter . . .

My wife works at a financial business (its her own) that caters to the down and out (kind of).  She loans them money.

She has seen (and remember, these are her words, not mine!): “More blacks coming in bragging that they have six or seven ‘Obamaphones’ – but not a single white person has one!”

I know one, but that’s besides the point.  The fact is it is an abuse of the system – and there are folks running around crowing about it, braggin’ on the fact that they “beat the system” and got not only the one they deserved, but several others besides.

Report them?

Guess what – it doesn’t matter and doesn’t work.  Someone took one out under my name – and got one – and when I went to complain they put all the work and effort to unroot the fraud on ME.  Instead of the social worker going to the appropriate page to file a fraud, she pointed to a number on the wall and said “Call them.”

What really sucked was being told I can’t get one because I’m not a minority.

I had a welfare counselor tell me once: “You are an educated white man.  YOU should be working for a living.”  And then she offered me and my family of five eighteen dollars a month to live on.  Meanwhile the fat black woman in front of me was getting five-hundred and eight dollars for her and her two children, plus assisted housing, food stamps, and an offer to get her in a program for a free college education (which she declined, stating she wanted to stay at home with her kids).

With that kind of “Obama Care” I’m thinking I might just vote Republican.  Won’t do me any good – but at least they might take some of the ‘entitlement’ out of some of these wasteful (and apparently prejudiced) social programs.

At the very least they need to cut some waste.

One thing I have seen in Romney: the willingness to cave in, go the ‘moderate’ way.  Apparently while he may personally believe something, he’s not going to shove it on the masses – or at least not in the unhealthy (both for the economy and our governments’ “social standing” in the world) that Obama has . . .

I can’t see (and couldn’t stomach) Obama’s personal behaviors – how he treated his Marines, or the military crowd.  While supporting him on some of his social issues – the fact is, the bailouts were a bad business for ‘them’ (the poor) and US (the U.S).  They would have accomplished far more just cutting a ten thousand dollar check to each family and telling them “go out and spend!”.  That would have stirred the economy much more as people went out to invest, spend, or get rid of the money they just had gotten.  They would have created the demand for goods market wide instead of just a few sectors . . .

That’s one of the things I said when Obama declared the “bailouts” for building roads.  Good for the businesses that supply road building material, might squeeze a few extra jobs out of it – but other than that, the focus was too narrow – too few benefited, if anyone benefited at all.

And the American taxpayers certainly took a hit!  Looking at our multi-Trillion dollar budget and deficit – I can’t help but decide he was wrong.  You just can’t go on spending money like that.  Not without something to back it on.  And what have we got?

Nothing.

I’m hoping that this next four years will be better than the last ones.  And, as stated, I’m starting to (doubtfully) look at the republicans.

But I’m certainly wishing there was a Robama or Obomney running for president out there . . .

About jeffssong

JW is an adult childhood abuse survivor with DID*. He grew up in a violent family devoid of love and affection. He is a military brat and veteran. He no longer struggles with that past. In 1976 JW began writing "The Boy". It took 34 years to complete. It is currently on Kindle (http://www.amazon.com/dp/B004T3IVKK ), or if you prefer hard copy, on Amazon ( http://www.amazon.com/Boy-J-W/dp/1461022681). JW resides somewhere in the deep South. He is disabled and living with family. Note: Please feel free to take what you need; all is free to all. With that in mind, keep it that way to others. Thank you. We have 3 Blogs - One for our younger days, 0-10 (The Little Shop of Horrors); one for our Teen Alter and his 'friends' (also alters) with a lot of poetry; and finally "my" own, the Song of Life (current events and things)
This entry was posted in child abuse survivor and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Robama or Obomney?

  1. Jill Stein is running and has some good mix between the two. However, at this point people are struggling and voting to cast against rather than for– it’s sad.

    Like

  2. ann says:

    You sound like you should vote for Gary Johnson. So why don’t you? It’s time the two-party (one party) system went out the door.

    Like

Go Ahead. You were thinking . . . ?

