O.L.D.: Obsessive Learning Disability & Miscellanious Trivia

I have a learning disability.  I’ve had it a long time.  I’ve looked for it, but apparently it’s got no name.  I call it “Obsessive Learning Disability”.  It’s fueled by insatiable curiosity and an appetite to learn.  I’ve learned that the more I learn about something, the more interesting it becomes.  And that just snowballs into more learning.  Which feeds the mechanism, motivates the cycle.  And on and on it goes . . .

“Make do or do without.”  That was an adage I learned at an early age.  That and “If you want something, you’d better learn to do it yourself.”  Buy it, build it – whatever it took.  I learned to sew when I was seven or eight in order to make my own stuffed animals.

I learned that thing I try to teach first: Learn to teach yourself something – and took it from there.  And apparently on through for the rest of my life.

As a result I’ve learned a lot of things – from furniture making by a Habersham carpenter, signage, art – I used to run my own woodshop; you know: the custom kind, specializing in ‘country pine’.  I’ve had my own auto shop and did retail on my own.  I’ve run a parts store (for the military no less) with over 30,000 ‘lines’ (meaning ‘different parts) – and I knew where every one of them were at.

I’m into learning like that.  And some stuff sticks to me like, well . . . like poo.  I’m a miner of trivial facts, science, technical, social and otherwise.  I don’t go for Hollywood characters or fame – I’m not the kind of person who makes famous persons famous.  I better known for technical facts than who did a song.  Or who that last person that was introduced to me was.

Not everyone shares my thrill of learning; my wife doesn’t, my daughter doesn’t, my brother-in-law – well, my insatiable curiosity about drove him insane.

Odd.  One of the things I’ve learned is lots of people choose not to learn anything beyond what they need to know to get them through the day.  I don’t know if their childhood curiosity got killed, died, or what . . . but for me learning is (or was) tied to survival.  I had to know.  It was either that or get yourself hurt, punished, or almost killed sometimes.  Or restricted to your room for weeks on end.  With nothing to do but read . . . reading science books (for me) most of the time.

Technical details and facts stick in my head.  Everything I read, everything I know comes from that insatiable curiosity to know.  People say I’m the smartest man they know, but I don’t buy it.  I know better.  It makes me sad they compare me to others like that.  I’ve met much smarter persons, and everyone is smart about something.  It’s what they know that changes from person to person, era to era.  Some are smart about horses; I’m not.  I’m as ignorant as sticks when it comes to electronic circuits (one of the few things I know little about.)  I’ve met many an ignorant man who was wiser than me.  And some who were stupid.

“Ignorance is bliss”.  There’s a bit of truth in that.  Learning isn’t the curse, but knowledge can hurt you.  Just ask the spouse of an unfaithful lover, or a child abuse survivor sometime. Or a soldier who gets a letter from home.

Ignorance is dangerous, too.  What you don’t know can kill you.  But as the Bible points out, knowledge isn’t wisdom – and a lot of knowledge can bring a lot of pain and suffering.  Or a way out of things.

Which brings me to this: Some people are too stupid to know they’re ignorant – I’ve seen it.  They go around thinking they’ve got all the facts when they don’t.  And they refuse to acknowledge it or even listen.  Not only are they fact deficient, but they’re too stupid to realize taht.  They don’t want to go through the process of learning – or accepting –  something that will change their vision.  They just go plodding, wondering why their life sucks without ever really having a clue what is wrong.  They go around thinking and blaming someone else – when the fact (and joke) is it is them and their refusal to see things as they really are.

Perhaps some people’s purpose in life is to be a bad example.  A warning to the rest of us.  As in ‘how not to think about things’ – or live your life sometimes.

I read a lot of studies; always have – I follow science like a nightmare, with devout attention to details, theorems and such.  I dive into the diversity of particles; I am in awe.

I find it amusing we are each the center of our own little universe, given the expansion of space.  (Click here to see an explanation for that, as well as an interactive Flash illustration to give you a good clue.)

Knowledge is not power, by the way, no matter what they say.  Power is the knowledge of how to use people – that’s something I’ve observed first hand.

Do you know they did a study some years back (business folks giving a meeting, listen up!).  It showed where, during a business meeting, the person who spoke the most got the most ‘recognition’ from the group and was the one they were following – even if that person was throwing out some illogical and unworthy ideas.  What counted was they were throwing out a LOT of them.

The person in the back giving the right answer every time (and nothing more) was ignored.

What’s that tell you about them?

I dunno.

About jeffssong

JW is an adult childhood abuse survivor with DID*. He grew up in a violent family devoid of love and affection. He is a military brat and veteran. He no longer struggles with that past. In 1976 JW began writing "The Boy". It took 34 years to complete. It is currently on Kindle (http://www.amazon.com/dp/B004T3IVKK ), or if you prefer hard copy, on Amazon ( http://www.amazon.com/Boy-J-W/dp/1461022681). JW resides somewhere in the deep South. He is disabled and living with family. Note: Please feel free to take what you need; all is free to all. With that in mind, keep it that way to others. Thank you. We have 3 Blogs - One for our younger days, 0-10 (The Little Shop of Horrors); one for our Teen Alter and his 'friends' (also alters) with a lot of poetry; and finally "my" own, the Song of Life (current events and things)
This entry was posted in child abuse survivor and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to O.L.D.: Obsessive Learning Disability & Miscellanious Trivia

  1. Marty says:

    Jeff,

    All we can do is determine what skills and abilities we have left and do our best.

    let judging alone especially of us. Exert all effort and appreciate the way you live life.

    Results are out of our control. We are dying no matter what, the same day and probably the same hour, so live fully without regret or doubt.

    ever entertain a negative thought about you,

    Wow you inspire me Jeff

    Like

  2. Michael says:

    I drive people nuts. I have found they think I am a threat. As an example I am taking a pottery class and am told that reduction in one kiln happens when fired in a reducing environment. 25′ away reduction happens when cooled in a reduction environment. Does not make sense to me yet. I am not questioning that the potters are not good at what they do or thinking I know more than them about pottery. Just makes no sense to me yet. What they know makes sense.

    Well here is the thing with me and knowledge. I never know what is going to mean or used for until I know what it means or use it.

    When you have knowledge from different areas you do naturally have to correlate the nomenclature. To someone that is working with fire retardants a fire that is starved of oxygen is called a fire that is out etc.

    I have an issue with free oxygen being available in a kiln that is 2000 degrees. Not saying it is not possible just does not fit yet.

    As you said they know just what they need to get by. They know how to get the reduction they want and they have no curiosity. They will not understand why I am curious.

    I do think that some people want someone else to explain everything and do not care who it is or even if they are correct and somehow figure everyone is like them.

    I use IDD imagination deficit disorder. Here is the thing we all have it with somethings. Some people have it with all things.

    I also figured out that when I say I do not understand … People give me answers which I have already considered and determined that they make no sense than do not understand that I am still left wondering. While they are most proud of teaching me.

    I want to know what caused the big bang.

    Like

  3. jeffssong says:

    My reduction theory (just a guess): the heat induced reduction is due to the crystals melting into one another, reducing the physical spacing; the second reduction is the normal reduction you get as atoms & molecules cool and stop moving around so much (losing their heat, and thus not bouncing around so much). Just a theory. Kinda fits metallurgy studies I took. :/ Sorta makes sense to me.

    Oxygen won’t burn up unless you have something to combine it with. Think hydrogen and the sun. You can heat it until it glows but you can’t burn it up. “Burning” is rapid oxidation of an element. Rust is a fire of a sort – just real slow. If the oxygen doesn’t have something to combine with it just sits there . . . heating up.

    Throw a match in that oxygen filled 2000 degree kiln and you might have more than a fire. Might even be a bit of an explosion as the free oxygen eats that match up . . .

    I reckon I collect knowledge for the sheer value of it – sooner or later something will turn up; something that needs done/solved. My parents ground a phrase into my life: “Make do, do without, or learn to do it yourself.” Build it or whatever. And that went for everything. Fix or repair – teach yourself how to do it – and our life hung on the balance sometimes. I think that gave me the drive for life. Learning how to ‘do something’ – and seeing where I could tie it into another technology or field. It was something my bosses prized me for: my ability to see ‘through’ things and find the simple solution; not concentrating on symptoms but causes instead – that kind of stuff. Collecting knowledge has survival value.

    As a boss I often didn’t want to know – or go – into the details of an operation. I assumed the people I hired would know what to do. I don’t want to because I’m so busy kind of life – you have to ignore the knowledge around you because you’re too busy ‘pressing on’. Lived that kind of life for awhile. It was kewl. Big money, anyway – less work. Never could wrap my mind around that. The brick layers should’ve been getting paid more than me. At least they were doing something. So was the janitor. But I made the big bucks. Go figure. A drawing never meant anything. You can’t live in a drawing and it won’t produce stuff. However I got good bucks for thinking of them. Ideas are cheap in my mind. It’s the creating the reality that’s tough.

    I do have IDD in some areas, and in some areas a lot. My math skills suck. Thank god for computers. They enabled me in ways nothing else could have, except a lot of work. I’m a lazy genius (they say). That’s good enough. (wry smile – wondering if you see the irony in that statement).

    If you can figure out what started the Big Bang or what was before there’s a few thousand theorists and scientists who want to hear from you. They’ll probably even give you $10 a head to give a talk; you could write a book and sell it for $19.99 (but a $100 value, of course!) – on TV and make your fortune . . .

    On the converse side . . . who is to say when you stamp your foot your don’t create a Big Bang for someone else (according to multiverse & string theory, of course!). LOL.

    Like

    • Michael says:

      I have a proof for the number after infinity. No idea where to send it. I have a theory on the measurement of time and relativity again no where to send it.

      I do math really well arithmetic not very well at all I have discacula which I assume is how I can see in 3-d when most people can not. Lots of disabilities are abilities teachers do not need or have.

      I think the reduction to the pottery happens when cooling down. Caused by the build up of carbon monoxide. If it were fuel they would have explosions at least now and again. I think they have the cause and effect messed up. The cause is the carbon monoxide being present in cooling caused by the absence of oxygen.

      Although the use copper and iron in their glazes pottery when fired is a glass and therefor and insulator. One of the weird things working with the glass in glass blowing is you can take the piece out of the flame and the heat goes to the center and the glass slumps where I as a welder expect it to become stiffer.

      I think the process is most like making charcoal. With the exception if you get carbon in the kiln than you turn the piece black.

      There is a guy in Fl that understands it all very well and I might just get pissed off and drive down and have him show me. Actually I have seen his web site and I think I got it. I really just need a reason to understand and not have people at the studio get mad at me. People are head cases to be sure.

      When I make marbles I have to take the marble out of the flame to heat the center as the outside of the glass is acting as an insulator. That and the torches complete combustion is about 2″ from the head of the torch drove me nuts. I want the glass hotter so I bring it closer to the head and as that is a oxygenated flame it is cooler. I would bring it closer and it would get even cooler. Drove me nuts. Then if you move it away from the head past complete combustion it would be a normal reduction flame and everything gets sooty.

      The colors in the glass are created with metals so each piece of glass act differently. What most people do is just unknowingly move to glasses that are close in behavior. Me I want what colors I want. Damn it.

      I am worth more as a laborer keeping the job running smoother with keeping things going. I make more taking naps in my trailer and hiring good laborers. Makes not sense. I am worth much more as an assistant running things with a figure head as the boss. Not going to do that if the boss makes more money than me.

      I think it would be real funny to have a bunch of physicists take up golf and than have a tournament against golfers who have never head of the Bernoulli Principle. I really would like to know who wins and hear the discussions after the tournament.

      Like

Go Ahead. You were thinking . . . ?

